We received a request from someone in the community this week, to publish this search for a housekeeper.


Seeking a “Mrs Doubtfire” as a live-in (rent exchange) or live-out housekeeper and general help to assist our family of 4 (widowed mum, 3 children 10-13) in the general care of our house, permaculture garden and animals (2 cats, 4 chickens).

Ideally, we would like someone living in with a rent exchange arrangement in exchange for work around the house. It is an ideal opportunity for someone who is seeking a home and who would enjoy being part of a family and a great local community – there would be plenty of time available during the week to also work in other employment.

We are looking for someone with the following attributes:

  • Mature, caring, warm individual who has experience with managing a busy house / family
  • Great ‘can do’ attitude, good work ethic, efficient, organised, self starter, plenty of common sense, trustworthy, diligent, competent, thorough
  • Someone who values family, community, health and the environment
  • Non smoker, drivers license, references required, no pets
  • Someone who loves gardening and has a green thumb would be great!

The accommodation is a fully self contained, large Eco Studio that is attached to the main house and has all the necessary facilities (king bed, sofa, TV, kitchen with oven and cooktop, bathroom & washing machine) There is a car port for parking. It is a very special space that is normally rented as a premium property on AirBnB.

The house is a large ‘toxin free’ eco house with a large vegetable and surrounding gardens. Spaces are large and cleaning is not difficult – just takes time. The property is located in a beautifully quiet, but very central position in Noosa Junction and backs onto bushland. It is only a couple of minutes to walk to all the Noosa junction shops and cafes.

The responsibilities will change each day according to what needs to be done to assist with management of the house. Role includes a mix of the following:

  • Housekeeping / cleaning / organisation / laundry
  • Meal planning / preparation
  • School pickups / drop offs
  • Oversee children when necessary (they are quite independent and do not require a lot of supervision, usually just some guidance and company if I am out)
  • Assist with maintenance of the garden and growing food, chicken pen etc. This may involve digging and wheelbarrow work.

~20 hrs /week spread across 5-6 days or as agreed

Hours/days can be flexible by prior arrangement as long as key requirements are met. Ideally availability is required at the busier times at the beginning of the morning and from mid afternoons / early evenings.  There may be occasional overnights which would be agreed. Additional work may be necessary and paid by agreement.

I am a very busy widowed mum with 3 warm, loving children, all of whom attend the Steiner School in Doonan. I am passionate about the environment, health, and community and am involved in a lot of community and environmental work.

Being a very environmentally/eco minded, health conscious, nil chemical, organic household it is important that you are someone who understands and respects that. I am a hard worker with high standards and I am constantly on the run. I am looking for someone who is trustworthy and uses their own initiative, with a good work ethic and who pays attention to detail, that I can rely on to get in and get a job done well, and who does not need constant direction and supervision.

At the moment, I get no time for myself and my health has been suffering. As the sole parent of 3 children with little family support, I need to focus on restoring some balance and improving my health for their sakes. I am also hoping to start some part time work and am already doing a lot of voluntary work which is difficult to fit in.

Note that there are a number of steps in the house and also steps up to the Studio. You need to be a reasonably fit person and not suffer from severe arthritis. We also have 2 cats who live in the house so this would not be suitable for anyone with cat allergies .

We can provide family references.

Please email resume and application to sheelincoates@yahoo.com.au


We do not know the person who is on the search, so we cannot either endorse this position or not. Any applicant would be wise to undertake their own due diligence regarding the role.